Loeries launches an empowerment focused youth committee

In the continuous effort to enrich the brand communication industry and support youth empowerment the Loeries, in partnership with Facebook Africa and UN Women South Africa Multi-Country Office, have launched the Loeries Youth Committee Mentorship Programme. The committee comprises 15 dynamic young professionals selected from across the African continent via an application and interview process for brand communication professionals under 30 years old. They will be mentored by the Loeries Board, Facebook and UN Women so that they can act as a voice for the youth in the industry.

The members selected for the committee are:

Ashleigh Lloyd, Creative Director, Studio Lloyd
Banzi Kasana, Art Director, Duke Group
Brian Njagi, Creative Lead, Isobar Kenya
Duanne Aspeling, Digital Content Specialist, The Foschini Group
Gale Maimane, Director, Darling Films
Iroro Alloh, Creative Copywriter, Insight Publicis Nigeria
Kgaugelo Mokgehle, Creative Writer, TBWA Hunt Lascaris
Lameez Davids, Art Director, M&C Saatchi Abel
Lebogang Kgothadi, Senior Brands and Partnership Manager SA & Nigeria, Universal Music Group
Robyn Phillips, Art Director, M&C Saatchi Abel
Taurai Mtake, Graphic Designer, CBZ Holdings and TaVaTake Designs Zimbabwe
Tshepo Tumahole, Senior Copywriter, Joe Public United
Zainab Mitha, Junior Art Director, FCB
Zamazwide Nxumalo, Creative Director, Publicis Worldwide
Zapriana Atanassova, Digital Strategist and Content Lead, Arc Interactive

Loeries have collaborated with Unstereotype Alliance to host masterclasses and webinars to help change the narrative of unstereotyping, and the newly formed Loeries Youth Committee mentorship programme is the natural next step. 

The Loeries Youth Committee’s objectives include the amplification of positive societal messaging amongst the committee’s peer group and a structured platform for networking & the transfer of skills with the view of ensuring that top talent remains in the industry. The journey also provides a mentorship to upskill and provide an acceleration path. Facebook Africa will host sessions with the committee to train them during their one-year tenure with the view of helping empower the committee members with the strategic tools and thinking required to deliver their objectives.

Loeries Chairperson Fran Luckin, Loeries CEO Preetesh Sewraj, Dawn Rowlands, Suhana Gordhan and Gaby de Abreu are the five Loeries board members who will mentor the committee to identify gaps within the industry and tackle youth-centred issues, while giving them guidance as they grow in their own career journeys.

The committee will have a one-year tenure post-which selected members will retain a life-time membership to the body as advisors to the next round of committee members.